17 May 2021

Mental Health Europe announces new President and 2021-2024 Board

Following Mental Health Europe’s Annual General Assembly on 8 May 2021, members elected the new 2021-2024 Board. Catherine Brogan, Deputy CEO at Mental Health Ireland, was elected as President for the next three years taking effect from 14 May 2021.

Catherine Brogan replaces Jan Berndsen, who has stepped down after serving the previous term as President of Mental Health Europe (MHE).

Catherine Brogan said: “I am humbled to have been chosen to lead the largest independent mental health NGO in Europe, and I am looking forward to working with the Board and the staff team in realising its mission where we will lead on the promotion of mental health, wellbeing and recovery, as well as advocating for the human rights of people who experience mental health challenges.”


“I believe that through the promotion of recovery education and our personal narratives, we can reduce stigma and discrimination. The key for me is bringing all perspectives to the conversation where we will have strength in unity,” Catherine added.


Commenting on Catherine’s appointment, MHE’s Acting Director Liuska Sanna stated: “We are delighted to welcome Catherine and the new Board to head the network. Current circumstances show that our mental health is more important than ever. We look forward to utilising our collective capacity to respond to the critical challenges we face today and to improve the lives and advance the rights of people with mental ill-health or psychosocial disabilities in the future.”


MHE sends its warmest wishes to the outgoing President Jan Berndsen and  2021 – 2024 Board members and thanks for their dedication and commitment over the past three years.

Composition of the new MHE Board 2021-2024: 

  • President: Ms Catherine Brogan, Mental Health Ireland, Ireland
  • Vice President: Mr Kristijan Grđan, Association for Psychological Support, Croatia
  • Treasurer:  Mr Stefaan Baeten, Vlaamse Vereniging voor Geestelijke Gezondheid, Belgium
  • Secretary:  Mr Paul Bomke, Dachverbands Gemeindepsychiatrie, Pfalzklinikum, Germany
  • Member of the Board: Ms Wieteke Beernink, De Nederlandse GGZ, The Netherlands
  • Member of the Board: Ms Darina Sedlakova, League for Mental Health, Slovakia
  • Member of the Board:  Ms Eva Leutner, Pro Mente Austria, Austria
  • Member of the Board:  Mr Pino Pini, Associazione Italiana per la Salute Mentale (AISME), Italy
  • Member of the Board: Mr Turkka Sinisalo, MIELI, Finland

About Mental Health Europe

With 70+ organisations in 32 European countries, Mental Health Europe is the largest independent network organisation in Europe. For over 35 years, we have been working to promote positive mental health and protect the rights of people with mental ill-health. We continuously champion social inclusion, mental health services in the community and respect for the human rights of people with mental health problems. We raise awareness to end stigma and tackle discrimination. The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is the foundation of our work. Learn more about MHE from this video.

Stay connected

Get our latest news, personal stories, research articles, and job opportunities.